Heightened Awareness of the World Around Us

Haiku, The Japanese form of poetry written in three short lines and is celebrated by people from many different cultures for it’s ability to express a simple moment in a profound way.

When my day seems so busy or cluttered with life’s challenges, reading haiku poems, offers me an easy way to slow down and appreciate the simple things in life.

Looking out my window,  I am reminded to take a moment to notice the stillness of the water or the serenity  of the scenery.

With themes such as honesty, transience, and compassion, Patricia Donegan’s book haiku mind, offers haiku and commentary.  She wrote the book to share the idea of “haiku mind” and to hopefully inspire others to live with more clarity, compassion and peace.

haiku poem found in Donegan’s book

closing the gate

alone with the stones

on this beautiful night

Shuoshi Mizuhara (1891 – 1981)

The following is how Patricia Donegan describes the haiku in her book.  (It is the commentary that helps me to enjoy the richness of the haiku)

The poet here has stepped beyond loneliness and embraced being alone in silence, in solitude. Most of our deepest moments occur when we are alone in silence or with others in silence.  It is a gateway of nurturing, of healing, of renewal, and sometimes of revelation.  The reverence for silence is in most religious traditions such as the Judeo-Christian statement, “Be still and know God, usually embodied in the Quaker’s silent meeting. And it is often through solitude that we find the soft-heartedness to connect further to others.

Ms. Donegan provides a bio of the poet at the end of every chapter.  They go back centuries and are from all walks of life.

I pay homage to this book because I  find it beautiful, educational, profound and helpful.


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. val
    Feb 16, 2011 @ 00:32:31

    Hey there! Would you believe this is one of my favorites fromthis book you sent me? Just another example of how we think alike!!

    Reply

    • Orchestrating Words...
      Feb 16, 2011 @ 05:12:28

      I love that haiku book. Would love to find more that I treasure as much as haiku mind. I really am interested in developing the skills to write a journal with my own poetic haiku. I researched and it says that a haiku has 3 lines. 5 syllables in the first line; 7 syllables in the 2nd and 5 in the last. I hope the ones I wrote meet that criteria.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

